Repeat DUI/Felony DUI

Augusta Repeat DUI Attorneys

In the state of Georgia, a repeat or multiple drunk driving offense means severe consequences. If convicted, repeat offenders receive mandatory minimum sentencing. This means that a judge has absolutely no discretion and is required to hand down minimum penalties. For example, a third DUI offense within 10 years of a first DUI conviction is a mandatory sentence of 120 days in jail and can be charged as a felony. This is why having an attorney experienced in criminal defense is so crucial to your future.

Mandatory Minimum Sentencing ? Critical DUI Defense ? Stay Out of Jail

If you have already been convicted of a first-time DUI and are facing a repeat DUI charge, it is critical that you hire an experienced Augusta repeat DUI attorney as soon as possible after you have been charged. The quality of defense you receive has a huge impact on the outcome of your case.

At Shepard, Plunkett & Hamilton, LLP , our defense attorneys can examine all the facts of your repeat DUI case to challenge any evidence against you that was illegally obtained. We look at things like probable cause, proper Breathalyzer procedures and police reports. Every case is different because every record is different, but we will aggressively follow the best strategy that works for you. Contact us immediately to discuss your case.

Penalties for Repeat DUI or Felony DUI

The penalties for a repeat DUI are serious and more extensive than a first-time conviction. Here are the penalties that generally apply for a second and third DUI:

Second DUI within 10 years of first DUI conviction:

  • Fine/fees: $600 to $1,000
  • License suspension: Three years
  • Jail: 90 days to a year; at least 72 hours in jail is mandatory
  • Community service: A minimum of 30 hours
  • DUI driver education: Mandatory
  • Alcohol counseling: Mandatory testing to determine if alcohol treatment program is needed. Completion of alcohol program will be included in sentence if program is deemed necessary.
  • Ignition interlock device: If you need to drive to work or school, you can apply for a DUI hardship license. If granted, you will have to install (at your own expense) an ignition interlock device on your car for a period of at least six months.

Third DUI within 10 years of first DUI conviction:

  • Fine/fees: $1,000 to $5,000
  • License suspension: Five years
  • Jail time: Mandatory 120 days to 12 months with a minimum of 15 days served
  • Community service: A minimum of 30 hours
  • DUI driver education: Mandatory
  • Alcohol counseling: Same as applies for second-time DUI offenders

Contact Our Evans Felony DUI Defense Lawyers

If you have been charged with a second, third, fourth or multiple DUI, you need a team of repeat DUI defense attorneys you can trust to get the results you need. At our firm, we are dedicated to defending our clients, using every possible defense strategy. Contact us to start defending your case immediately.

Free Consultations in Select Matters - Credit cards accepted

Call (706) 722-4111 in Augusta, Georgia or (706) 650-2100 in Evans, Georgia today
to speak with an experienced personal injury, criminal defense,
or litigation lawyer from our firm.